Shadow

Shadow

Years have passed yet here I am
Stuck in the memories of yesterday
Your face is clear, your laughter echoes in my ear
Our past is a shadow haunting me.

A day has not passed without me thinking
How it could have been? What might have happened?
If I was strong enough and fought for you
I wouldn’t have this shadow lingering in my heart.

If, If and a hundred more Ifs
Endless questions that will never be answered
It’s the unfortunate fate of a cowardly heart
And the shadow is the payback I am sentenced to bear.

Leave a Reply

